Committing to the Follow Through

May 29, 2010 at 5:58 PM 1 comment


Ok. It’s day six of my self-imposed 19-day blogging challenge where I committed to myself to blog daily for 19 days. (If you want to be reminded why it’s 19 days, read the original post.)

Anyway, it’s day six and life just seems to be getting in the way, making me not want to write. Mostly, I’m just tired and don’t have much energy, but how much energy does it take to type a blog post. In case you’re not sure, the answer is NOT MUCH! So a friend suggested I write about the challenge I am having sticking to the challenge.

I thought, “I can do that!”

But instead of taking up a bunch for your time making excuses — I mean sharing reasons — for why I don’t want to write, all the things that keep distracting me or my simple procrastination, I’m going to take another angle.

My question to you is: “What have you committed yourself to, for the betterment of you, that you are having a hard time following through on?”

Is it…

  • Saving money?
  • Losing weight?
  • Exercising?
  • Breaking up with the boyfriend?
  • Finding that new job or leaving a job that just doesn’t make you happy?

Or maybe it’s…

  • Buying a home or de-cluttering the one you already own?
  • Planning for your dream vacation — or simply taking that long over due vacation?
  • Taking the time to figure out who you are and how you want to show in your life now that you’re in the real world?

Whatever it is for you, we all have things we promise ourselves in one fashion or another, and sometimes it’s just freakin’ hard to follow through.

It’s time to get honest with ourselves. If we really want to make positive change in our lives, it’s time to stop making excuses. It’s time to take off the blinders and take a really close and honest look at what we value. Sure, we say we want this, that or the other, but our actions are producing a much different result than the one we say we are striving for.

Try this little exercise:

  • Look at the goal you say you want to achieve
  • Ask yourself WHY you aren’t achieving it — what choices are you making or not making regarding the goal and why?
  • Now, ask yourself again and be REALLY HONEST with yourself about the honest truth of the “why”or “why not.”
  • Lastly, ask yourself “where am I getting n my very own way?”

For me, bottom line is “I’m plain tired and I just didn’t feel like having to think about what to say to you today.” But I’ll tell you this, I knew I’d be really disappointed if I had missed a day only 6 measly days into my challenge. There was a really positive reason why I made this commitment to begin with and I had to focus on that.

And, I asked for encouragement.

So, whatever it is for you, remind yourself why you made the commitment to begin with, imagine what it would feel like if you didn’t uphold and honor that commitment and what it will feel like when you take action toward your goal. What are you striving to achieve today? What positive change are you working to make in your life? Leave a comment and share it with the rest of us. Once you say it out loud, you also be more apt to keep your commitment!

Have a great day/evening, wherever you are, and I’ll be back tomorrow! Thanks for stopping by!

Entry filed under: 19-Day Challenge, Thoughts from the Trailblazing Real Girl. Tags: , , , , , , .

SOW What: Stay True to YOU! What I Do Know

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Margie Banin  |  May 30, 2010 at 10:54 PM

    Hey there – great post for someone who thought they didn’t have anything worth writing about!

    You made some really good points, I think, about the level of commitment to ourselves when we take on a challenge.

    One more point to ask came to my mind, by the way. I might ask myself, “do I REALLY want this?” Or did I take it on for a ‘wrong’ reason…like I think I should be doing it, or I’m trying to impress someone else, etc.

    Anyway, keep up the good work! I bet that by day 19 you’ll be so dedicated a blogger, that you’ll keep on posting daily even though the challenge is complete. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


GGR on Campus

Welcome to the official blog of GGR on Campus and SŌW.U, the college edition of Girls Get Real created to meet the unique needs of college girls as they prepare for adulthood and the "real" world.

Our Motto: Be SŌW U

SŌW = Stand-Out Women/Self, Others, World

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber

Recent Posts

Mentorship Award

GGR Founder wins The Hot Mommas Project Mentorship Award

Girls Get Real founder wins The Hot Mommas Project Mentorship Award

Feeds

Proud Member of SITS Girls

Proud Member of The SITS Girls