SOW What: Stay True to YOU!

May 28, 2010 at 5:11 PM Leave a comment


Guest Post by Brittany Guthrie, UGA Senior, Public Relations

I’ve always wanted to please my parents and have their approval on everything I do or at least most everything.  Since I’ve been at the University of Georgia, though, I’ve finally realized what matters most is what I want to do and if I’m pleased with myself.

It’s been difficult for me to step out on my own and learn that sometimes my parents won’t agree with everything I want to do.  At some point or another, people have to do what drives them, not what someone else wants them to do.

I spent a lot of my time searching for the perfect public relations summer internship.  I decided to apply for a competitive internship with a global public relations agency, but I could only apply to one office.  Would it be Atlanta, my home and comfort zone, or New York City, outside of my comfort zone and somewhere I’ve dreamed of living? My parents, of course, wanted me to apply to the Atlanta office.

It took a big leap of faith in myself and my own independence, but I applied to New York City.  Even if I didn’t land the internship, at least I could sleep easy knowing I’d have no regrets and that I’d stayed true to what I want out of life.

Bottom line:  Live your life to the fullest, even if that means stepping out of your comfort zone and doing something others may not agree with.

Entry filed under: SŌW What. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

They Don’t Teach “You” in School Committing to the Follow Through

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


GGR on Campus

Welcome to the official blog of GGR on Campus and SŌW.U, the college edition of Girls Get Real created to meet the unique needs of college girls as they prepare for adulthood and the "real" world.

Our Motto: Be SŌW U

SŌW = Stand-Out Women/Self, Others, World

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber

Recent Posts

Mentorship Award

GGR Founder wins The Hot Mommas Project Mentorship Award

Girls Get Real founder wins The Hot Mommas Project Mentorship Award

Feeds

Proud Member of SITS Girls

Proud Member of The SITS Girls